Welcome to the Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers Join the Flyer Wire List Official Facebook of the Philadelphia Flyers Official Twitter of the Philadelphia Flyers Official Instagram of the Philadelphia Flyers Official LinkedIn of the Philadelphia Flyers

Flyers hand out 2013-14 End of Season Awards

Team MVP, Outstanding Defensemen and Most Improved among the list of winners

Sunday, 04.13.2014 / 2:45 PM ET / News
Philadelphia Flyers
Share with your Friends

Flyers hand out 2013-14 End of Season Awards
Team MVP, Outstanding Defensemen and Most Improved among the list of winners

The Philadelphia Flyers presented their 2013-14 end-of-season awards today before the start of their season finale today vs. the Carolina Hurricanes at the Wells Fargo Center.

Bobby Clarke Trophy: Claude Giroux
(Most Valuable Player)

Claude Giroux won his third Bobby Clarke Trophy as the team’s most valuable player, as voted by a panel of sportswriters and sportscasters.

Giroux heads into today’s game ranked third in the NHL in scoring with 28 goals and 57 assists for 85 points, and will finish as the Flyers’ leading scorer for the fourth consecutive year. Giroux has appeared in all 81 games to this point, but he posted 78 of his 85 points (all 28 goals and 50 of his assists) over the last 66 games of the season.

The Flyers are 21-2-1 this season when Giroux scores a goal and are 33-15-3 when he posts at least one point. Giroux previously won the award in 2011 and 2012.

Barry Ashbee Trophy: Kimmo Timonen
(Outstanding Defenseman)

Kimmo Timonen received the Barry Ashbee Trophy as the team’s outstanding defenseman as voted by a panel of sportswriters and sportscasters.

Timonen wins the award for the third consecutive season and fifth time overall, having previously won it in 2008 and 2009. Timonen has recorded five goals and 28 assists for 33 points in 76 games this season while logging an average of 20:20 in ice time per game and a plus-6 rating.

Timonen becomes just the second player in Flyers history to earn the award five or more times, joining
Eric Desjardins, who won it seven times.

Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy: Michael Raffl
(Most Improved Player)

Michael Raffl was selected by his teammates as the Flyers’ most improved player from the previous season.

Raffl made his North American professional debut with the Flyers this season after signing as a free agent last May. He spent the previous two seasons with Leksands IF in the HockeyAllsvenskan, which is the second-highest level of professional hockey in Sweden.

Raffl smoothly made the two-level jump to the NHL while also quickly becoming accustomed to the narrower rinks in North America. He became a regular in the Flyers lineup at Thanksgiving, having appeared in all but one game since November 25. He has posted nine goals and 13 assists for 22 points to become one of 11 Flyers with 20 or more points this season.

Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award: Jakub Voracek
(Character, Dignity & Respect On and Off the Ice)

The Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA) selected Jakub Voracek as this year’s recipient of the Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award. This award is presented annually to the Flyer who best illustrates character, dignity and respect for the sport both on and off the ice. Voracek enters today’s game in second place on the team in scoring with 23 goals and 38 assists for 61 points, and is one of seven players who could complete a perfect season of appearing in all 82 games.

The award honors the memory of Yanick Dupre, who died on August 16, 1997 at the age of 24 after a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupre played parts of three seasons with the Flyers (1991-92, 1994-95 and 1995-96), recording two goals and 16 penalty minutes in 35 games. He was originally drafted by the Flyers in the third round (50th overall) of the 1991 NHL Entry Draft.

Gene Hart Memorial Award: Steve Mason
(Player with the most "Heart")

The Philadelphia Flyers Fan Club selected Steve Mason as the winner of the Gene Hart Memorial Award. This award is given to the player who demonstrated the most “Heart” during the season as voted on by members of the Fan Club at their monthly meetings.

The award honors the memory of longtime Flyers broadcaster Gene Hart. For 28 years, Hart called the organization’s most thrilling moments, and in the process, helped spawn generations of devoted fans. Hart’s contributions to the sport were recognized with his induction into the Flyers Hall of Fame in 1992 and the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1997.

Presenting the award to Mason was Flyers Fan Club president Joe Fisher and Fan Club member Paul Mazzochetti, along with Sarah and Lauren Hart. The Flyers Fan Club will also donate $2,000 to the charity of Mason’s choice.

Toyota Cup: Claude Giroux
(Most Points from 'Star of the Game')

Claude Giroux has won his third consecutive Toyota Cup as the Flyer who accumulated the most points associated with being selected as a “Star of the Game.” Entering tonight’s game, Giroux has been named First Star seven times, Second Star six times and Third Star once for a total of 54 points.

Five points were awarded for being selected First Star, three points were awarded for a Second Star performance and one point was awarded for a Third Star selection.

Presenting Giroux with the award was Bill Finocchiaro, a representative of the Tri-State Toyota Dealers, who will make a $5,000 donation on Giroux’s behalf to a charity of his choosing.




1 x - NYR 76 48 21 7 231 179 103
2 x - MTL 77 47 22 8 203 174 102
3 x - TBL 78 47 24 7 250 204 101
4 PIT 76 42 23 11 210 190 95
5 NYI 77 45 27 5 235 215 95
6 WSH 77 42 25 10 227 190 94
7 DET 76 40 23 13 221 208 93
8 BOS 77 39 25 13 204 198 91
9 OTT 76 38 26 12 220 204 88
10 FLA 77 35 27 15 192 210 85
11 CBJ 76 37 35 4 210 234 78
12 PHI 76 30 29 17 198 219 77
13 NJD 77 31 33 13 170 197 75
14 CAR 76 28 37 11 176 208 67
15 TOR 77 29 42 6 201 245 64
16 BUF 76 21 47 8 148 255 50


J. Voracek 76 21 55 7 76
C. Giroux 75 23 46 2 69
W. Simmonds 75 28 22 -5 50
M. Streit 75 9 36 -10 45
B. Schenn 76 14 25 -7 39
S. Couturier 76 13 17 1 30
M. Del Zotto 58 9 20 -5 29
M. Read 74 7 22 -7 29
M. Raffl 61 20 6 7 26
V. Lecavalier 52 7 11 -10 18
S. Mason 15 17 11 .927 2.24
R. Emery 10 10 6 .892 3.15
Privacy Policy | AdChoices | California Privacy Rights | Contact Us | Advertise Employment | NHL.com Terms of Use

Philadelphiaflyers.com is the official Web site of the Philadelphia Flyers. Philadelphia Flyers and philadelphiaflyers.com are trademarks of Philadelphia Flyers, L.P. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Philadelphia Flyers, L.P. and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.